New England Faculty Development Consortium

Board of Directors

The NEFDC Board of Directors is a working board of dedicated volunteers that meets three times a year to plan and execute two yearly conferences (Fall and Spring) and publish the journal, The Exchange. Between meetings, board members work electronically to manage the conferences and publications. The Board is comprised of members from a broad array of colleges across New England that represent large, public research universities, private universities and colleges, community colleges and technical colleges. Our board members bring a wide variety of interests and backgrounds but concentrate on providing opportunities for faculty development throughout New England. Board members serve three year terms, and are elected by NEFDC board members by April 1st of each year.

For all inquiries regarding individual or institutional membership, the Board of Directors or upcoming conferences please contact the President (Contact us) or the current conference chair. For inquiries regarding payment for membership or conference registration, please contact the Treasurer.

For a list of former board members, please click here.

2017-2018 Board of Directors

Marc Ebenfield

President

Marc Ebenfield, Ph.D.
(NEFDC term expires June 2021)

Director, Center for Teaching Innovation

Salem State University
Meier Hall 115
352 Lafayette St
Salem, MA 01970
Phone: 978-542-6718
Email: MNEbenfield@gmail.com

Annie Soisson

Vice-President

Annie Soisson, Ed.D.
(NEFDC term expires June 2020)

Associate Director, Center for the Enhancement of Learning and Teaching

Tufts University
108 Bromfield Road
Somerville, MA 02144
Phone: 617-627-4007
annie.soisson@tufts.edu

Kimberly Monk

Treasurer

Kimberly Monk, Ed.D, CHE
(NEFDC term expires June 2021)

Chair, Department of Hospitality Business

Southern New Hampshire University
School of Business
2500 North River Road
Manchester, NH 03104
k.monk@snhu.edu

Eric Matte

Secretary

Eric Matte, M.S.
(NEFDC term expires June 2019)

Associate Professor of Communication

Landmark College
1 River Rd
Putney, Vt. 05346
Phone: 802-387-1675
Email: ematte@landmark.edu
Twitter: @profmatte

Linda Bruenjes

Associate Secretary

Linda Bruenjes 
(NEFDC term expires June 2019)

Director, Center for Teaching & Scholarly Excellence

Suffolk University
Center for Teaching & Scholarly Excellence
73 Tremont Street
Boston, MA 02108
Phone: 617-725-4137
Email: lbruenjes@suffolk.edu

Lori Rosenthal

Editor of The Exchange

Lori Rosenthal, Ph.D.
(NEFDC term expires June 2021)

Associate Professor of Psychology
Chair, Department of Social Sciences

Lasell College
1844 Commonwealth Ave.
Newton, MA 02466
Phone: 617-243-2074
Email: LRosenthal@Lasell.edu
Twitter: @RosenthalLori

Deborah Clark

Former President

Deborah Clark, Ph.D.
(NEFDC term expires June 2020)

Professor of Biology

Quinnipiac University
275 Mount Carmel Ave.,
Hamden, CT 06518-1908
Phone: 203-582-8270
Fax: 203-582-3524
Email: Deborah.Clark@quinnipiac.edu

Chris Hakala, Ph.D.
(NEFDC terms expires June 2021)

Director, Center for Excellence in Teaching, Learning and Scholarship/Professor of Psychology

Springfield College
Harold C. Smith Learning Commons, Room 401
Springfield, MA 01109
413-748-4401 (office)
413-441-4452 (mobile)
E-mail: hakala@springfield.edu

Carol Hurney

Carol A. Hurney, Ph.D.
(NEFDC term expires June 2021)

Director, Center for Teaching & Learning

Colby College
5165 Mayflower Hill
Waterville, ME
Phone: (207) 859-5166
Email: cahurney@colby.edu

Laura O'Toole

Laura L. O’Toole, Ph.D.
(NEFDC term expires June 2021)

Professor of Sociology and Senior Faculty Fellow for Community Engagement

Salve Regina University
100 Ochre Point Avenue
Newport, RI 02840
Phone: 401-341-3183
Email: laura.otoole@salve.edu

Peter Shea, M.A.
(NEFDC term expires June 2021)

Director, Office of Professional Development

Middlesex Community College 
591 Springs Road
Bedford, MA 01730
Phone: 781-280-3561
Email: sheap@middlesex.mass.edu

Susan Tashjian

Susan Tashjian 
(NEFDC term expires June 2020)

Coordinator of Instructional Technology

Northern Essex Community College
The Center for Instructional Technology and Distance Learning
Haverhill, MA
Phone: 978-556-3686 or 978-655-5819
Email: stashjian@necc.mass.edu

Cindy Tobery

Cindy Tobery, Ph.D.
(NEFDC term expires June 2020)

Associate Director, Dartmouth Center for the Advancement of Learning

Dartmouth College
102 Baker-Berry Library, HB6247
Hanover, NH 03755
Phone: 603-646-9750
Fax: 603-646-6906
Email: cindy.tobery@Dartmouth.edu