New England Faculty Development Consortium

Board of Directors

The NEFDC Board of Directors is a working board of dedicated volunteers that meets three times a year to plan and execute two yearly conferences (Fall and Spring) and publish the The Exchange, a peer reivewed publication. Between meetings board members work collaboratively to manage the conferences and publications. The Board is comprised of members from a broad array of colleges across New England that represent large, public research universities, private universities and colleges, community colleges and technical colleges. Our board members bring a wide variety of interests and backgrounds but concentrate on providing opportunities for faculty development throughout New England. Board members serve two – three year terms, and are elected by NEFDC board members by April 1st of each year.

For all inquiries regarding individual or institutional membership, the Board of Directors or upcoming conferences please contact the President (Contact us) or the current conference chair. For inquiries regarding payment for membership or conference registration, please contact the Treasurer.

For a list of former board members, please click here.

2020-2021 Board of Directors

Jacquelynne Boivin, Associate Treasurer
(NEFDC term expires June 2024)

Assistant Professor of Elementary and Early Childhood Education

Bridgewater State University

131 Summer St., Bridgewater, MA 02324

Phone: 508-531-1224
Email: jboivin[at]

Linda Bruenjes

Linda Bruenjes, Vice President
(NEFDC term expires June 2024)

Director, Center for Teaching & Scholarly Excellence

Suffolk University
Center for Teaching & Scholarly Excellence
73 Tremont Street
Boston, MA 02108
Phone: 617-725-4137
Email: lbruenjes[at]

Kim Burns
(NEFDC term expires June 2024)

Dean of Academic Innovations and Professional Development

Northern Essex Community College

100 Elliott Street

Haverhill MA 01830

Phone: 978-729-6322
Email: drkimburns[at]

Kelle Deys

Kellie Deys, PhD

(NEFDC term ends June 2024)

Associate Professor of English, Chair of the English Department, Director of the Honors Scholar Program 

Nichols College

131 Center Road 
Dudley, MA  01571-5000 
Phone: (508) 213-2241 
Email: kellie.deys[at] 

Joseph Finckel

Joseph Finckel
(NEFDC term expires June 2022)

Associate Professor of English
Teaching and Learning Consultant (TLC)

Asnuntuck Community College
170 Elm Street,
Enfield, CT 06082
Phone: 860-253-3076
Email: jfinckel[at]

Chris Hakala, PhD
(NEFDC terms expires June 2023)

Director, Center for Excellence in Teaching, Learning and Scholarship/Professor of Psychology

Springfield College
Harold C. Smith Learning Commons, Room 401
Springfield, MA 01109
Phone: 413-748-4401
Email: chakala[at]

Bethany Lisi

Bethany Lisi
(NEFDC term expires June 2022)

Director of Faculty Development Initiatives

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Institute for Teaching Excellence & Faculty Development (TEFD)
140 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-545-1699
Email: blisi[at]

Eric Matte

Eric Matte, M.S., Secretary
(NEFDC term expires June 2022)

Associate Professor of Communication

Landmark College
1 River Rd
Putney, Vt. 05346
Phone: 802-387-1675
Email: ematte[at]
Twitter: @profmatte

Laura O'Toole

Laura L. O’Toole, PhD
(NEFDC term expires June 2022)

Professor of Sociology and Senior Faculty Fellow for Community Engagement

Salve Regina University
100 Ochre Point Avenue
Newport, RI 02840
Phone: 401-341-3183
Email: laura.otoole[at]

brittney privett

Britney Privett, PhD, Associate Secretary
(NEFDC term expires June 2023)

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Saint Anselm College
100 Saint Anselm Drive #1668
Manchester, NH 03102
Phone: 603.641.7147
Email: bprivett[at]

Lori Rosenthal

Lori Rosenthal, PhD
(NEFDC term expires June 2023)

Associate Professor of Psychology
Chair, Department of Social Sciences

Lasell College
1844 Commonwealth Ave.
Newton, MA 02466
Phone: 617-243-2074
Email: lrosenthal[at]
Twitter: @RosenthalLori

Annie Soisson

Annie Soisson, EdD, President
(NEFDC term expires June 2022)

Director, Center for the Enhancement of Learning and Teaching

Tufts University
108 Bromfield Road
Somerville, MA 02144
Phone: 617-627-4007
Email: annie.soisson[at]

Jordan Troisi, PhD, Treasurer

(NEFDC term ends June 2024)
Senior Associate Director, Center for Teaching and Learning

Colby College

4000 Mayflower Hill
Waterville, ME 04901
Email: jdtroisi[at] 
Brad Wheeler

Brad Wheeler, PhD
(NEFDC term expires June 2022)

Associate Director, Center for Teaching and Learning

Brandeis University
415 South Street | MS: 045 | Farber 2
Waltham, MA 02454
Phone: 781-736-5060
Email: bwheeler[at]